Pan Asian, Sheraton – tryst of fine dining with oriental vibes

DSC_2925

Having heard a lot about their Asian cuisine, Sheraton’s Pan Asian was on my radar since a long time. So recently I had this fine dining experience at this award winning restaurant and I must tell you that it lived up to the expectations. Located on the first floor of Sheraton Hotel following a beautiful spiral staircase, the restaurant exhibits classy ambience along with a live kitchen. The wooden furniture and flooring complements the minimal décor and ambient lighting. The restaurant is massive and has plenty of seating space. It holds a private dine in area as well. You can even sit alongside live kitchen table and let the chef serve you steaming hot food right there which is quite an experience in itself.  You can see the chef weaving magic with plentiful of ingredients turning it into delectable delight that goes into your plate straight from the wok. It won’t be an exaggeration if it be called as comfort food, no?!

DSC_3005
Front – Pan Asian, Sheraton

Pan Asian offers diverse flavors of East Asia in their menu with wide range of cuisines from Malaysia, Korea, Japan, China and Thailand. If you are Oriental food aficionado then this place is for you, without a doubt.

DSC_2981
From the live kitchen – the chef preparing our meal

DSC_2983.JPG

That being said, let’s come to the food. So I started with Hibachi Basil Miso Fried Rice, a Japanese dish. According to the menu, this was the local specialty which the chef’s mother used to prepare for their family back in Japan’s Hokkaido Island. Seemed like a perfect comfort meal for me. I was quite impressed already and couldn’t wait for it to arrive. The Verdict – It was awesome! It looked like any other regular fried rice but the flavors were just so perfect and balancing. Miso created a depth of flavor and the food texture was such that it gulped down the throat easily leaving that subtle, lingering taste on the palate.It was mildly spiced and didn’t overpower the original flavor of the dish. I enjoyed every bit of it. The fact that the chef made it in front of me while I was just digging into the menu to order something else to complement with the rice and before I knew my order was ready, that quick. But I couldn’t possibly get over the fact that my palate was overwhelmed by the taste of this simple dish. Chopsticks added that perfect traditional touch and for a moment I found myself teleported to that Hokkaido Island of Japan itself. Was quite a journey I tell you, ha-ha!

DSC_2930

DSC_2989

DSC_2997
Hibachi Basil Miso fried Rice with Nine Hills red wine

I ordered some red wine with it – Nine Hills Cabernet Sauvignon 2007. The Nine Hills wine was smooth with a fragrant lingering taste. Both complemented each other perfectly. I would like to mention that the portion size was generous and sufficient for two. The nice homely meal along with the hearty wine and heartwarming service already made my day. I came here just to try dim sums but had a great meal instead. Changed my mind for good though!

DSC_3001
The tempting dessert – Date pan cake

Now to end this perfect meal and a perfect day, I couldn’t help but order a serving of dessert – Date Pan Cake.  Yes, it caught my eye the very instant I spotted it in the menu and so did it when it arrived. The dessert options were limited though, just a few for the vegetarians. Anyhow, the order arrived and you could tell that it is delicious by the look and feel. Served with a scoop of ice cream and butterscotch sauce, it was actually cut into bite size portions. It was neither something extra ordinary nor something average. But I tell you this, I really enjoyed relishing it.

Overall, I would most definitely recommend Pan Asian for a gastronomical experience. Full marks to the ambience and hospitality.

DSC_3008

DSC_3006

LTC’s Recommendations

Perfect place for a family date or business dining. Less options for vegetarians though a haven for non vegetarian Oriental cuisine lovers. Dessert options are limited. Do try their wide range of quality wines and mocktails.

 

Pan Asian - Sheraton New Delhi Hotel Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Any feedback, recommendation or query, do let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

